23.6.2015

# Leadership responsibilities for the Government Programme's strategic objectives and key projects

1. The Ministerial Committee on Economic Policy will handle matters falling within the scope of the Government's key objective "employment and competitiveness".

The Ministerial Committee on Economic Policy has been appointed. Minister of Agriculture and the Environment Kimmo Tiilikainen, Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Mäntylä and Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Lenita Toivakka will participate, if necessary, when the strategic project "employment and competitiveness" is discussed.

## Key project responsibilities:

- Social contract / Sipilä
- Strengthening competitiveness by improving conditions for business and entrepreneurship / Rehn
- Incentive traps preventing acceptance of work will be removed and structural unemployment reduced / Lindström
- Local agreement will be promoted and barriers to employment removed / Lindström
- Reform of employment service activities to support employment / Lindström
- Housing construction will be increased / Tiilikainen
- 2. Ministerial working group on knowledge and education

Will handle matters falling within the scope of the Government's key objective "knowledge and education", previously handled in the ministerial working group on education policy.

# Composition

Minister of Education and Culture Sanni Grahn-Laasonen (chair) Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Lenita Toivakka Minister of Local Government and Public Reforms Anu Vehviläinen Minister of Economic Affairs Olli Rehn Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Mäntylä Minister of Justice and Employment Jari Lindström

#### Key project responsibilities:

- New learning environments and digital materials to comprehensive schools / Grahn-Laasonen
- Reform of vocational upper secondary education / Grahn-Laasonen
- Acceleration of transition to working life / Grahn-Laasonen
- Access to art and culture will be facilitated / Grahn-Laasonen
- Cooperation between higher education institutions and business life will be strengthened to bring innovations to the market / Rehn in cooperation with Grahn-Laasonen
- Youth guarantee towards community guarantee / Grahn-Laasonen in cooperation with Lindström and Rehula
- 3. Ministerial working group on wellbeing and health

Will handle matters falling within the scope of the Government's key objective "wellbeing and health", previously handled by the ministerial working groups on social affairs and health policy and the basic public services programme.

#### Composition

Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Mäntylä (chair)

Minister of Justice and Employment Jari Lindström

Minister of Family Affairs and Social Services Juha Rehula

Minister of Transport and Communications Anne Berner

Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Lenita Toivakka

Minister of the Interior Petteri Orpo

## Key project responsibilities:

- Services to be based on customer needs / Mäntylä and Rehula
- Health and wellbeing will be fostered and inequalities reduced / Rehula
- Programme to address child and family services will be implemented / Rehula
- Home care for older people will be developed and informal care enhanced in all age groups / Rehula
- Career opportunities for people with partial work ability / Mäntylä
- 4. Ministerial working group on bioeconomy and clean solutions

Will handle matters falling within the scope the Government's key objective "bioeconomy and clean solutions", previously handled by the ministerial working group on energy and climate policy.

# Composition

Minister of Agriculture and the Environment Kimmo Tiilikainen and Minister of Economic Affairs Olli Rehn (chairs)

Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Mäntylä

Minister of Justice and Employment Jari Lindström

Minister of the Interior Petteri Orpo

Minister of Education and Culture Sanni Grahn-Laasonen

#### Key project responsibilities:

- Towards carbon-free, clean and renewable energy cost-effectively / Rehn
- Wood on the move and new products from forests / Tiilikainen
- Breakthrough of a circular economy, restoring waters to good condition / Tiilikainen
- Finnish food production will be profitable, trade balance on the rise / Tiilikainen
- Nature policy based on trust and fair means / Tillikainen
- 5. Ministerial working group on reform of operating practices (digitalisation, experimentation and deregulation)

Will handle matters falling within the scope of the Government's key objective "digitalisation, experimentation and deregulation".

## Composition

Minister of Local Government and Public Reforms Anu Vehviläinen and Minister of Transport and Communications Anne Berner (chairs)

Minister of Defence Jussi Niinistö

Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Mäntylä

Minister of Education and Culture Sanni Grahn-Laasonen

Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Lenita Toivakka

#### Key project responsibilities:

- Public services will be digitalised / Vehviläinen
- A growth environment will be created for digital business operations / Berner
- Legal provisions will be improved / Berner
- A culture of experimentation / Vehviläinen
- Management and implementation will be improved / Vehviläinen

# 6. Ministerial working group on reforms

Will handle matters relating to the Government's administration reforms (reform of social welfare and health care services, reducing municipalities' duties and obligations, reform of regional and central administration).

#### Composition

Minister of Family Affairs and Social Services Juha Rehula (chair in social welfare and health care services reform)

Minister of Local Government and Public Reforms Anu Vehviläinen (chair in reducing municipalities' duties and in reform of regional and central administration)

Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Mäntylä

Minister of Defence Jussi Niinistö

Minister of the Interior Petteri Orpo

Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Lenita Toivakka

# 7. Ministerial working group on internal security and administration of justice

Will handle issues relating to the effectiveness and chain of authority of administration of justice and internal security, and to intelligence in particular.

#### Composition

Minister of the Interior Petteri Orpo (chair)

Minister of Justice and Employment Jari Lindström

Minister of Family Affairs and Social Services Juha Rehula

Minister of Transport and Communications Anne Berner

Minister of Defence Jussi Niinistö

Minister of Education and Culture Sanni Grahn-Laasonen