State Secretaries to the Ministers

State Secretaries assist ministers in political steering and planning. In line with the ministers' instructions, they also assist and represent the ministers in the drafting of policy outlines, conduct of inter-ministerial coordination, harmonising of policy positions, implementation of the Government Programme in the ministry's administrative branch, and the handling of EU and other international duties. The term of a State Secretary, who must enjoy the confidence of the minister in question, is linked to that of the minister. During the talks on the formation of each new Government, the appointment of, and new requirement for, State Secretaries is assessed.

In addition to the State Secretary to the Prime Minister, there are three State Secretaries in Sipilä's Government who work as State Secretary to their own party's group of ministers.
Press release on 17 June 2015 

The State Secretary to Prime Minister Juha Sipilä at the Prime Minister's Office is Ms Paula Lehtomäki. The duties of the State Secretary are, as the Prime Minister’s closest aide, to promote and monitor the implementation of the Government Programme, to direct preparation of matters in the Government and to ensure cooperation with the ministries.

The other three State Secretaries work for their party’s group of ministers who have been mandated to deal with matters falling within their respective ministries’ field of activities. Mr Jari Partanen is State Secretary to the Centre Party’s group of ministers — Ministers Anu Vehviläinen, Juha Rehula, Kimmo Tiilikainen, Mika Lintilä and Anne Berner.  Mr Samuli Virtanen is State Secretary to the Finns Party’s group of ministers — Ministers Timo Soini, Jussi Niinistö, Jari Lindström and Pirkko Mattila. Mr Risto Artjoki is State Secretary to the National Coalition Party’s group of ministers — Ministers Petteri Orpo, Paula Risikko, Kai Mykkänen and Sanni Grahn-Laasonen.

State Secretaries to Sipilä's Government

State Secretary to the Prime Minister Paula Lehtomäki
tel. +359 295 160 280

State Secretary Jari Partanen (Centre Party of Finland)
tel. +358 295 342 326

State Secretary Samuli Virtanen (Finns Party)
tel. +358 295 160 420

State Secretary Risto Artjoki (National Coalition Party)
tel. +358 295 530 524