There are 12 ministries in Finland. Each ministry is, within its mandate, responsible for the preparation of issues that fall within the scope of the Government and also for the proper functioning of administration. Ministries’ mandates are laid down in the Government Rules of Procedure and their duties in decrees issued on the ministries.


The ministries together employ about 4,200 people.


Ministries' web pages

Prime Minister's Office

Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Ministry of Justice

Ministry of the Interior

Ministry of Defence

Ministry of Finance

Ministry of Education and Culture

Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

Ministry of Transport and


Ministry of Employment and

the Economy

Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

Ministry of the Environment