Government and ministries Media

Government set up a ministerial working group on migration

Ministry of the Interior 24.9.2015 15.36
News item

Government Communications Department's press release

The Government has set up a ministerial working group on migration. The migration group is be chaired by Minister of the Interior Petteri Orpo.

Prime Minister Juha Sipilä, Minister for Foreign Affairs Timo Soini and Minister of Finance Alexander Stubb are members of the group and State Secretaries will deputise for the Ministers as necessary. Other members of the migration group are ministers Anu Vehviläinen, Juha Rehula, Olli Rehn, Hanna Mäntylä, Jari Lindström and Sanni Grahn-Laasonen.

The ministerial working group on migration compiles and maintains situational awareness of the asylum seeker situation and monitors integration. The group will have regular meetings.

The Government set up another ministerial group to improve the coordination of matters relating to Russia. The ministerial group on Russia is open to all Government ministers. The President of the Republic can participate the meetings. The group is not not a decision-making body. Its function is to share and coordinate information and to allow an opportunity to a comprehensive situation assessment.

The Russia group meets four times a year and is chaired by the Prime Minister. The secretariat of the group is at the Department for Russia, Eastern Europe and Central Asia of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs.

Inquiries: Riina Nevamäki, Special Adviser to the Prime Minister in Political Affairs, tel. +358 9 1602 2009, Prime Minister's Office, Anna-Kaisa Heikkinen, Special Adviser (International Affairs), tel. +358 295 160 306, Prime Minister's Office

Back to top