Skip to content
Government and ministries

Press conference on 17 March Decrees concerning the use of powers under the Emergency Powers Act to Parliament

17.3.2020 16.40

Government, in cooperation with the President of the Republic, has declared a state of emergency in Finland over the coronavirus outbreak. On 16 March 2020, the Government decided on measures to slow down the spreading of coronavirus and to protect risk groups. The decisions will remain in force until 13 April 2020. The measures decided by the Government will be enforced in accordance with the Emergency Powers Act, Communicable Diseases Act and other relevant legislation.

On 17 March, the Government submitted two decrees concerning the use of powers under the Emergency Powers Act to Parliament. The decrees specify the provisions of the Emergency Powers Act that will now become applicable.

Prime Minister Sanna Marin, Minister of Finance Katri Kulmuni, Minister of Education Li Andersson, Minister of the Interior Maria Ohisalo and Minister of Justice Anna-Maja Henriksson were present. 

Employees in sectors critical to the functioning of society 
Municipalities have the right to deviate from time limits for non-urgent healthcare and assessment of the need for social welfare services due to the coronavirus out-break 
Finland will restrict cross-border traffic - retired border guards and police officers may be called back to work 
Employers permitted to temporarily derogate from working hours and annual holidays arrangements in critical functions of society 
Recording of the press conference | YouTube 
Press conference photos | Flickr

Back to top