Today's governments have long terms in office

In the early years of Finland's independence and after the wars, governments did not last for long. The shortest term was that of Anders Verner Hackzell's Government towards the end of the Continuation War. Since the 1970s and 1980s, governments have as a general rule had long terms in office. The longest term has been held by Sipilä's Government between 2015 and 2019.