The Council is chaired by the Prime Minister. The Vice-Chairs as well as three more minister appointed by Government.

In addition to the ministers, the Council has six or seven other members appointed by the Government for the duration of the parliamentary term.

The Council members must provide extensive expertise in research, development and innovation activities.


Prime Minister Sanna Marin 


Minister of Science and Culture Hanna Kosonen

Minister of Economic Affairs Mika Lintilä


Minister of Education Li Andersson

Minister of Justice Anna-Maja Henriksson 

Minister of the Interior Maria Ohisalo

Head of Early Research and Business Development Heidi Fagerholm (Merck KGaA)

Dean Peppi Karppinen (University of Oulu)

Academy Professor Samuel Kaski (Aalto University)

Partner Ilkka Kivimäki (

Vice-President Petra Lundström (Fortum)

Rector and President Vesa Taatila (Turku University of Applied Sciences)

President & CEO Antti Vasara (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland). 

Preparation of the Research and Innovation Council's meetings

The Prime Minister's Office, the Ministry of Education and Culture, the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, the Academy of Finland and the Finnish Funding Agency for Innovation Tekes are jointly responsible for the preparation of the matters to be discussed at the meetings of the Research and Innovation Council. The above-mentioned organisations have appointed contact persons for the coordination of the preparation. The contact persons are responsible for the production of meeting documents and other materials.

Research and innovation activities, research results and business experts play a key role and are widely consulted in the preparation. The best national and international expertise in the matter to be discussed by the Council are utilised in the preparation.

Contact information

Research and Innovation Council

Visiting address: Meritullinkatu 10, 00170 Helsinki
Postal address: PO Box 29, 00023 Government
Email: tin(at)

Erja Heikkinen, Director
Telephone: +358 295 330 101
Email: [email protected]