Skip to content

Government appoints Climate Policy Round Table to support preparation and implementation of climate measures

Government Communications DepartmentMinistry of the EnvironmentNational Commission on Sustainable Development
Publication date 27.2.2020 14.17 | Published in English on 28.2.2020 at 16.03
Press release 100/2020

On 27 February, the Government appointed a Climate Policy Round Table within the framework of the Commission on Sustainable Development. The Climate Policy Round Table will carry out its activities during the current government term. Representatives from various sectors of society will be widely involved in its work.

The Climate Policy Round Table will be chaired by Prime Minister Sanna Marin and vice-chaired by Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Krista Mikkonen, Minister of Finance Katri Kulmuni, youth climate delegate Sara Nyman from the Finnish National Youth Council Allianssi and Jouni Keronen, CEO of the Climate Leadership Coalition.

The purpose of the Climate Policy Round Table is to create a common understanding of how Finland can make a just transition to a carbon neutral society within an accelerated timeframe.

Sanna Marin’s Government Programme aims for Finland to be carbon neutral and the first fossil-free welfare society by 2035. This requires even faster emissions reductions in all sectors and the strengthening of carbon sinks.

The Climate Policy Round Table does not make decisions; instead, its work aims to support the preparation and implementation of climate policy at the national level. The aim is to increase the acceptability of climate policy and make it possible for stakeholders to participate more closely in the national preparation of climate action.

A secretariat headed by the Ministry of the Environment will be responsible for the preparation of the work. The Secretary-General of the Climate Policy Round Table is Senior Environmental Adviser Merja Turunen from the Ministry of the Environment.

The Round Table will regularly report the results of its meetings to the Ministerial Working Group on Climate and Energy Policy, and the Sustainable Development Commission will be kept informed of the Round Table’s work. It will hold 4–6 meetings each year.

Composition of The Climate Policy Round Table


Prime Minister Sanna Marin

Vice Chairs: 

Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Krista Mikkonen

Minister of Finance Katri Kulmuni

Sara Nyman, youth climate delegate, Finnish National Youth Council Allianssi     

Jouni Keronen, CEO, Climate Leadership Coalition


Ari Alatossava, Chief Executive, Municipality of Ii

Jarkko Eloranta, Chair, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK

Sture Fjäder, Chair, Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland Akava

Laura Hildén, Chair, Agenda 2030 Youth Group

Jyri Häkämies, Managing Director, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK

Timo Jaatinen, General Director, Finnish Forest Industries Federation

Tuomas Aslak Juuso, Vice-President, Sámi Parliament in Finland

Mari Kiviniemi, Managing Director, Federation of Finnish Commerce

Rilli Lappalainen, Director of Advocacy and Policy, Finnish Development NGOs Fingo

Jukka Leskelä, Managing Director, Finnish Energy

Päivi Lundvall, Chief Executive, Finnish Association for Nature Conservation

Juha Marttila, Chair, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners MTK

Salka Orivuori, Development Manager, Martha Organization

Antti Palola, Chair, Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK

Timo Reina, Deputy Managing Director, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities

Suvi Rihtniemi, CEO, Helsinki Region Transport HSL

Liisa Rohweder, CEO, WWF Finland

Sampo Seppänen, Economist, Federation of Finnish Enterprises

Helena Soimakallio, Executive Director, Technology Industries of Finland

Tiina Vyyryläinen, Head of Policy Team, Consumers’ Union of Finland

Representatives of Expert Bodies:

Research Professor Hannele Korhonen, Finnish Climate Panel

Professor Eeva Furman, Expert Panel for Sustainable Development

Mari Pantsar, Director, “resource-wise and carbon-neutral society” theme area, Sitra

Inquiries: Merja Turunen, Senior Environmental Adviser, Ministry of the Environment, tel. +358 295 250 387, [email protected], Riikka Yliluoma, Special Adviser to Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Krista Mikkonen, tel. +358 50 414 1682, [email protected]