Research and Innovation Council

The Research and Innovation Council is an advisory body chaired by the Prime Minister. The Council discusses key issues relating to the development of research and innovation policy that supports the wellbeing, growth and competitiveness.

The purpose of the Research and Innovation Council is to support the government in the development and coordination of long-term research and innovation policy, to monitor the changes in the national and international operating environment, and to put forward initiatives related to the research and innovation policy.

The term of the Council lasts for the duration of the electoral term. The term of the ministerial members of the Council is limited to the duration of their ministerial term.

Members of the council

The Council is chaired by the Prime Minister. The Vice-Chairs as well as three more minister appointed by Government.

In addition to the ministers, the Council has six or seven other members appointed by the Government for the duration of the parliamentary term.

The Council members must provide extensive expertise in research, development and innovation activities.


Prime Minister Sanna Marin 


Minister of Science and Culture Annika Saarikko
Minister of Economic Affairs Mika Lintilä


Minister of Education Li Andersson
Minister of Justice Anna-Maja Henriksson 
Minister of the Interior Maria Ohisalo
Dean Peppi Karppinen (University of Oulu)
Academy Professor Samuel Kaski (Aalto University)
Partner Ilkka Kivimäki (
Vice-President Petra Lundström (Fortum)
Chair of the Board Marjo Miettinen, Ensto Oy
Rector and President Vesa Taatila (Turku University of Applied Sciences)
President & CEO Antti Vasara (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland).

Meetings and activities

The Research and Innovation Council convenes usually every two months. Reports compiled for the Council, together with presentations given by experts in the field, provide the basis for discussion at the meetings.


Riina Vuorento, opetusneuvos 
Ministry of Education and Culture, Korkeakoulu- ja tiedepolitiikan osasto ( KTPO ), Tiedepolitiikan vastuualue ( TIEVA ) 0295330363