Ministerial committees and working groups

The Government has four statutory ministerial committees with different areas of responsibility:

  • the Ministerial Committee on Foreign and Security Policy
  • the Ministerial Committee on European Union Affairs
  • the Ministerial Finance Committee
  • the Ministerial Committee on Economic Policy.

These statutory ministerial committees are chaired by the Prime Minister. A government plenary session may appoint extraordinary ministerial committees as needed. 

In addition to the ministerial committees, ministerial working groups may be set up to address a specific issue or set of related issues. The ministerial working groups and their tasks and members are decided in connection with the government formation talks, but they can also be agreed on later in the government term. 

Appointment of general secretaries and secretariats for ministerial working groups at the government plenary session on 7 September 2023 (in Finnish) 
Change in the composition of a ministerial working group and the tasks of ministerial working groups made at the government plenary session on 21 September 2023 (in Finnish)

Ministerial Committees of Orpo's Government

Ministerial Working Groups of Orpo's Government