How the Government works

The Government is an institution exercising the supreme executive power in Finland. It is a central part of Finland's political system. The Government is responsible for Finland's day-to-day administration and decision-making. Its actions have a significant impact on the everyday lives of Finnish people and on society as a whole.

Government is a concept with several meanings. It usually refers to the Government of Finland composed of the Prime Minister and the other ministers. The Prime Minister leads the work of the Government. Ministers serve as the head of a ministry and oversee the activities of agencies or bodies within the ministry’s branch of government. The Government may also mean a decision-making body consisting of a government plenary session and the ministries.

The Government has 12 ministries and usually around 20 ministers. The Prime Minister coordinates the preparation and consideration of matters that fall within the authority of the Government and chairs the ministerial committees.

Finland has a system of parliamentary democracy where Parliament, the country's supreme legislative body, oversees the Government's decisions. In order for the Government to function properly, it must have the support of the majority of the Members of Parliament. Key provisions on the Government are laid down in the Constitution, the Government Act and the Government Rules of Procedure.