Government and ministries Media

Centenary of diplomatic relations between Estonia and Finland

Ministry for Foreign Affairs 3.6.2020 15.06 | Published in English on 3.6.2020 at 16.50
Press release

The centenary of diplomatic relations between Estonia and Finland will be celebrated on Monday 8 June 2020.

Finland was the first country to recognise Estonia after the Treaty of Tartu had been signed between Estonia and the Soviet Russia. On 7 June 2020, Foreign Minister Rudolf Holsti signed the de jure recognition and gave it to Estonian representative in Finland Oskar Kallas. The document entered into force on the following day.

Due to the restrictions caused by coronavirus, the centenary of the diplomatic relations will be held in a small-scale setting and separately in the two countries. 

On 8 June 2020, Finland’s Minister for Foreign Affairs Pekka Haavisto and Estonia’s  Minister of Foreign Affairs Urmas Reinsalu will sign an exquisite copy of the de jure recognition document at the same time in Helsinki and Tallinn. The event is the first in a series of events marking the centenary of Estonia’s diplomatic relations.

Inquiries: Virpi Kukkasniemi-Leino, Desk Officer, Unit for Northern Europe, and Pille Toompere, Desk Officer, Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs ([email protected])


Back to top