Skip to content

Finland continues to impose travel restrictions on Russian citizens

Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Publication date 6.7.2023 16.23
Press release

Finland will continue to impose restrictions on the travel by citizens of the Russian Federation on the basis of a government resolution issued on 6 July 2023. Non-essential travel by Russian citizens to Finland and through Finland to the rest of the Schengen area will continue to be restricted for the time being. At the same time, restrictions will be tightened for business travellers, property owners and students.

In future, business travellers will only be allowed to travel to Finland, i.e. transit to other countries will be prohibited. Business travellers must also have an essential reason to come to Finland in person. As regards property owners, they will also be required to provide grounds for their personal presence. In future, students will only be allowed to participate in programmes leading to a degree or studies completed as part of a degree (e.g. exchange studies). This will exclude participation in courses offered by folk high schools, for example.

The government resolution confirms the guidelines for assessing whether Russian citizens fulfil the entry conditions, for granting visas and for assessing the conditions for the validity of visas. The Ministry for Foreign Affairs will be responsible for implementing the restrictions on the issuing of visas and the Border Guard for issues relating entry to the country.  

This resolution reforms the government resolution issued on 29 September 2022. The new restrictions will enter into force on 10 July 2023 at 00:00 and will remain in effect until further notice.


Ministry for Foreign Affairs:

Leena Liukkonen, Deputy Director General +358 295 351 547

Mikko Kivikoski, Deputy Director General, +358 295 350 773

Finnish Border Guard:

Tero Hirvonen, Head of the Border Inspection Unit
[email protected]

Border Guard’s media service number, tel. +358 50 456 2862


The email addresses of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs are in the format [email protected].