Government and ministries Media

COVID-19 coronavirus

Government reinstates entry restrictions for three countries

6.8.2020 13.27

In its meeting on 6 August, the Finnish Government decided to reinstate internal border control for traffic between Finland and the Netherlands and between Finland and Belgium. Restrictions on external border traffic will be reinstated for traffic from Andorra to Finland.

Restrictions during the coronavirus epidemic

Annika Saarikko appointed as Minister of Science and Culture

6.8.2020 9.35

On Thursday 6 August, the President of the Republic appointed Member of Parliament Annika Saarikko, Master of Arts, Bachelor of Education, as a member of the Government and Minister of Science and Culture. On the same occasion, the President of the Republic released Member of Parliament and entrepreneur Hanna Kosonen, Master of Arts, from her responsibilities as Minister of Science and Culture and a member of the Government.

Personal details of Minister of Science and Culture Saarikko
Ministerial portfolios and deputising
Ministerial working groups


Slight increase in the number of new coronavirus infections

6.8.2020 10.00

The Ministry of Social Affairs and Health and the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare held a briefing on the disease situation and the current epidemiological assessment of the coronavirus outbreak in Finland and internationally. The number of COVID-19 infections has increased to some extent. At the national level, the number of new coronavirus infections is still small, even though there has been a slight increase in reported cases in July. 

The briefing was attended by Permanent Secretary Kirsi Varhila and Strategic Director Liisa-Maria Voipio-Pulkki from the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, and by Chief Physician Taneli Puumalainen from the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare.

Presentation materials
Recording of the press conference | YouTube

Looking for information on coronavirus in other languages?

Government press releases in North Saami, Inari Saami, Skolt Saami, Estonian, Russian, Somali and Arabic. 

Multilingual materials

See also

Government Programme

Government Programme

The Programme of Prime Minister Sanna Marin's Government "Inclusive and competent Finland – a socially, economically and ecologically sustainable society" was submitted to Parliament in the form of a Government statement on 10 December 2019.

Government Programme

Information about Brexit

Information about Brexit

We have grouped together information about Brexit and the future EU-UK relationship. These pages offer information, for example, on the negotiation process and the withdrawal agreement and on how UK and Finnish citizens and businesses should prepare for a withdrawal without an agreement.

Information about brexit

Ministries' publications

Ministries' publications

The Institutional Repository Valto includes the publication series of all Finnish ministries in pdf-format from the beginning of 2016 and some publications that date further back.


Finnish Government

Finnish Government

The term ‘Government’ refers to the Government of Finland which consists of a prime minister and a required number of ministers. It also denotes a decision-making body consisting of the government plenary session and the ministries.

About the Government

Government in office

Government in office

On 10 December 2019, the President of the Republic appointed Prime Minister Sanna Marin’s Government, which is Finland’s 76th government. Marin’s Government is formed by the Social Democratic Party, the Centre Party, the Greens, the Left Alliance and the Swedish People's Party of Finland. The Government has 19 ministers.

Prime Minister Marin's Government

Finnish Governments

Finnish Governments

It is possible to search information on the Finnish Governments, their compositions and Government Programmes throughout Finland’s independence – as of 1917. Information is also available on the Governments' terms of office, on the types of Government and on the political parties within the Government.

Governments and ministers since 1917

Back to top