Skip to content

Prime Minister Orpo’s Government appointed

Government Communications Department
Publication date 20.6.2023 14.50
Press release 257/2023
Photo of Petteri Orpo's Government

On Tuesday 20 June, the President of the Republic appointed Finland’s 77th Government, led by Prime Minister Petteri Orpo. At the same time, the President released the ministers in Prime Minister Marin’s Government from their duties as members of the Government.

The Government headed by Prime Minister Petteri Orpo will consist of 19 ministers  
8 from the National Coalition Party, 7 from the Finns Party, 2.5 from the Swedish People’s Party and 1.5 from the Christian Democrats.

In its first plenary session, the Government decided on the division of responsibilities among the ministers, the composition of the ministerial committees and working groups, and the deputising arrangements for the ministers. The Orpo Government also gave the Government Programme as a statement to Parliament.

Minister of Finance Riikka Purra was appointed to deputise for the Prime Minister. At the start of the session, 13 ministers took an oath of office and a judicial oath and 1 minister made an equivalent affirmation.

The Orpo Government

Petteri Orpo, Prime Minister 
Riikka Purra, Minister of Finance 
Anders Adlercreutz, Minister for European Affairs and Ownership Steering
Elina Valtonen, Minister for Foreign Affairs 
Ville Tavio, Minister for Foreign Trade and Development  
Leena Meri, Minister of Justice 
Mari Rantanen, Minister of the Interior 
Antti Häkkänen, Minister of Defence 
Anna-Kaisa Ikonen, Minister of Local and Regional Government 
Anna-Maja Henriksson, Minister of Education
Sari Multala, Minister of Science and Culture 
Sandra Bergqvist, Minister of Youth, Sport and Physical Activity
Sari Essayah, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry 
Lulu Ranne, Minister of Transport and Communications 
Arto Satonen, Minister of Employment 
Vilhelm Junnila, Minister of Economic Affairs  
Kaisa Juuso, Minister of Social Affairs and Health 
Sanni Grahn-Laasonen, Minister of Social Security 
Kai Mykkänen, Minister of the Environment and Climate

Inquiries: Timo Lankinen, Permanent State Under-Secretary, tel. +358 295 160 300, Prime Minister’s Office