Skip to content

Restrictions on entry into Finland extended until 15 June

Ministry of the Interior
Publication date 20.5.2021 14.15
Press release 59/2021
Picture with the text corona & decisions.

On 20 May, the Government decided to extend the restrictions on entry into the country until 15 June 2021. The COVID-19 pandemic continues to spread, and we do not yet have adequate measures available to replace the restrictions. For this reason, and to curb the spread of COVID-19 variants, both internal border controls and restrictions on external border traffic will continue. Minor amendments will be made to the decisions adopted on 22 April. These will enter into force on 24 May.

In addition to the restrictions on internal and external border traffic, restrictions on the opening hours of certain border crossing points at the western border in Lapland and the eastern border will continue. At the border crossing points that are open to passenger traffic, the accepted criteria for entry are the return of persons living in Finland or in another EU or Schengen country and other essential reasons. In future, taking an entrance examination to an educational institution will be considered a justifiable personal reason to enter the country if physical attendance at the examination is mandatory.

Restrictions will be lifted for residents of border communities between Finland and Norway

Internal border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and other Schengen countries. The decision adopted on 22 April will be amended to lift the border traffic restrictions for residents of border communities at Finland’s land border with Norway.

Finland restricts entry from all other Schengen countries except Iceland The Schengen countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden, which are EU Member States, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, which are non-EU countries.

The restrictions do not apply to leisure boating between Schengen countries.

Minor changes to restrictions on external border traffic

External border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and non-Schengen third countries. Based on an epidemiological assessment, restrictions on entry will be lifted for residents of Israel arriving in Finland from Israel as of 24 May. Restrictions have been lifted earlier for traffic arriving in Finland from the Vatican, and for traffic between Finland and Australia, South Korea, Singapore, Rwanda, Thailand and New Zealand for residents of these countries. Entry from these low-risk countries is not restricted due to the low incidence of COVID-19.

As of 24 May, restrictions on entry will be reinstated for residents of Thailand arriving in Finland from Thailand. For other countries, the restrictions on entry will be extended until 15 June 2021.

Cruise vessels are permitted to call at ports but passengers are not allowed to come ashore.

Government still recommends avoiding unnecessary travel abroad

Under the Constitution of Finland, Finnish citizens and residents of Finland always have the right to return to Finland, and everyone has the right to leave Finland if they so wish, provided that there is no legal impediment to this. However, the Government still recommends avoiding unnecessary travel to other countries, except for countries for which the restrictions on entry have been lifted. Travellers must be aware of the current entry and quarantine regulations of their country of destination.

The Finnish Border Guard gives people advice on cross-border traffic by phone and email. The service is available in Finnish, Swedish and English on weekdays between 8.00 and 16.00 at +358 295 420 100. Questions can also be sent by email to [email protected]