Skip to content

New National Emergency Supply Council appointed till the end of 2026

Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment
Publication date 20.6.2024 14.38
Press release

On 20 June 2024, the Government appointed a National Emergency Supply Council for the period of 1 July 2024–31 December 2026. Topi Manner, Chief Executive Officer of Elisa Oyj, was invited to chair the Council, while Timo Jaatinen, Permanent Secretary from the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, will serve as vice-chair. The Council will have 26 members.

The Council operates in conjunction with the National Emergency Supply Agency. Its tasks include maintaining and developing contacts with key cooperation partners, monitoring the state and development of security of supply, and proposing measures. 

The members of the National Emergency Supply Council come from the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, Prime Minister’s Office, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Ministry of the Interior, Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Finnish Defence Forces, Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment for Southeast Finland, Bank of Finland and Provincial Government of Åland. 

In addition, sectors critical to the security of supply are widely represented in the Council. These include telecommunications and other digital infrastructure, energy, pharmaceutical industry, primary production and food industry, logistics, media and communication, finance, defence industry and technology, critical industry and retail trade. 

The National Emergency Supply Council now appointed consists of 26 persons – the maximum permitted by law. Of them, the chair and 15 other members represent business and interest groups. 

The appendix to the Government decision below (20 June 2024) contains the names of Council members. 

Mirjami Tanner, Chief Specialist, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, tel. +358 295 047 167