Hyppää sisältöön
Valtioneuvosto etusivu

Health security at Finland’s borders: List of low-risk countries as of 23 August

Ministry of Social Affairs and Health
Publication date 19.8.2021 13.23 | Published in English on 19.8.2021 at 15.41
Press release 228

The Government has approved an amendment to the decree allowing entry into Finland without the health security measures laid down in the Communicable Diseases Act. The amendment to the decree will enter into force on 23 August 2021.

Persons arriving in Finland from countries or regions where the incidence of COVID-19 or the prevalence of virus variants does not pose a particular risk of spreading the epidemic will not be required to show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or of recovery from COVID-19 within the past six months or to take a COVID-19 test upon entry.

The decree has now been amended in the light of the changed epidemiological situation. The situation has deteriorated in the following countries and they will be removed from the decree: Albania, Australia, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Romania. At the same time, the municipality of Övertorneå in Sweden will be included in the decree, because no new cases of COVID-19 have been reported in the municipality over the past four weeks.

Under the government decree, people arriving in Finland from the following countries and regions will not be required to be tested or show a certificate: Hong Kong, China, Macao, Poland, Taiwan, Hungary, New Zealand and the Vatican, and the Norwegian municipalities of Storfjord, Kåfjord, Nordreisa, Kautokeino, Karasjok, Tana, Nesseby and Sør-Varanger and the Swedish municipality of Övertorneå. In these countries and regions, the incidence of new COVID-19 cases is less than 10 per 100,000 inhabitants in the previous 14 days.

The decree will be amended if the epidemiological situation so requires.


Mirka-Tuulia Kuoksa, Legal Adviser, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, [email protected]

Sivun alkuun