Hyppää sisältöön
Valtioneuvosto etusivu

EU meetings
Economic and Financial Affairs Council and Eurogroup meet in Brussels on 12-13 July 2021 

Ministry of Finance
Publication date 9.7.2021 16.47
Press release

The Economic and Financial Affairs Council will discuss the implementation of the Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF) and at the same time decide on the adoption of Council Implementing Decisions on twelve Member States’ recovery and resilience plans. Finland considers that the re-covery and resilience plans of these countries meet the set requirements and can therefore adopt the Council Implementing Decisions on the plans. 

The Ecofin Council will also discuss the strategy on financing the transition to a sustainable econ-omy. On 6 July, the European Commission published a strategy and a legislative proposal on Eu-ropean green bonds. Finland will formulate its position on them in the autumn. 

A recovery plan for Europe (background information and timeline) 
Council agenda 

Eurogroup meets in both inclusive and ordinary format  

The Eurogroup will meet on Monday, 12 July. In the inclusive format, the President of the Eu-rogroup will brief ministers on the June Euro summit, focusing in particular on the banking union discussions. In addition, the Eurogroup will exchange views on economic and financial policies with Janet Yellen, the United States Secretary of the Treasury.   

Banking union (background information) 

The Eurogroup will hold an annual discussion on the euro area fiscal stance, and the Eurogroup will receive a progress report on the preparations for the euro as a digital currency and hold a policy debate on the priorities of further preparation. 

A digital euro (European Central Bank) 
Digital finance (background information) 

Finland’s permanent representative to the European Union, Ambassador Marja Rislakki and Permanent Under-Secretary Leena Mörttinen will represent Finland at the meetings. 

Susanna Ikonen, Senior Ministerial Adviser, tel. +358 295 530 049, susanna.ikonen(at)vm.fi 

The Economic and Financial Affairs Council (Ecofin) is one of the configurations of the Council of the European Union. Ecofin decides on EU legislation in its area of responsibility usually in cooperation with the European Parliament. It also coordinates Member States' economic policies. The Ecofin Council is made up of the economic and finance ministers from all Member States. 

The Eurogroup is an informal body tasked with coordinating economic policies among the euro area member states and promoting economic growth. It brings together euro area finance ministers. The Eurogroup formulates political guidelines, but does not decide on legislation, for example. 

Sivun alkuun