Hoppa till innehåll
Statsrådet och ministerierna

Research and Innovation Council convened for the first time under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Juha Sipilä

Government Communications Department 7.9.2016 10.24 | Published in English on 7.9.2016 at 14.29
Press release 358/2016

The Research and Innovation Council convened for the first time on 7 September 2016 under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Juha Sipilä. At the meeting the Council discussed the research and innovation policy situation and agreed to meet in October to decide on its work programme.

Chaired by the Prime Minister, the Research and Innovation Council, assisting the government, discusses matters relating to the development and co-ordination of research and innovation policy. Its term will last for the duration of the electoral term. The term of the Government members of the Council is limited to the duration of their ministerial term.

The Council is chaired by Prime Minister Juha Sipilä and vice-chairs are Minister of Education and Culture Sanni Grahn-Laasonen and Minister of Economic Affairs Olli Rehn. Minister of Defence Jussi Niinistö is a ministerial member of the Council. The Council members include Academy Professor Sirpa Jalkanen (University of Turku), partner Ilkka Kivimäki (Inventure Oy), Rector Liisa Laakso (University of Tampere), Executive Vice President, Technology, Jyrki Ovaska (UPM Oyj) and President, CEO Antti Vasara (VTT Group).

The Council decided to invite State Secretary Paula Lehtomäki (Prime Minister's Office), Permanent Secretary Jari Gustafsson (Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment), Permanent Secretary Anita Lehikoinen (Ministry of Education and Culture), President Heikki Mannila (Academy of Finland) and Director-General Pekka Soini (Finnish Funding Agency for Technology and Innovation Tekes) as permanent experts to the Council.

Inquiries: Counsellor for Science Affairs Erja Heikkinen, tel. +358 295 330 101 and Senior Officer Riina Vuorento, tel. +358 295 330 363, Ministry of Education and Culture

Tutkimus- ja innovaationeuvosto
Tillbaka till toppen